Blinded by Fashion

Support this blog by using my Amazon.com link

I volunteer at a recycling center in my town that we call the Green Center. We get a variety of interesting items. I keep my eye out (pun intended) for old magazines and odd items. Last week a 1942 issue of Life Magazine showed up which was a treasure trove of ¬†wartime advertisements (Buy War Bonds) and features such as “Modern Living”.

I can only imagine how annoying it would be to wear a hat that obscured my vision, but I never was one for fashion.

When it comes to being politically incorrect, how about this quote?

“Men in uniform, they like their women helpless. So we knock out one eye on the lady and catch all the men’s eyes” – Milliner Lilly Dach√©

 

Life Magazine - October 5, 1942

Life Magazine – October 5, 1942

Life Magazine - October 5, 1942

Life Magazine – October 5, 1942

Sponsored by

Life Magazine - October 5, 1942

Life Magazine – October 5, 1942

3 thoughts on “Blinded by Fashion

  1. This is great, John. Interesting, I searched “high-rumpety,” and “rumpety.” Nothing. But this article comes up! Guess the author just made it up?

Leave a Reply

